Turians

If you want to hear about my future projects follow me on Twitter @Kerry_Dyer

So a few months back now I started sculpting a Turian from artwork by the very talented animator/illustrator (and Mass Effect obsessed) Sophie Powell. It started as sculpting practice, and maybe something I could give Sophie for her birthday, but after finishing it and showing it to a few people I thought it might be fun to mould it and paint up a few different versions.

So far I’ve only painted the ones above, but I have a few more that I’ll be working on when I’m not so busy, and of course Sophie has one to paint as well, which will be appearing on her Deviantart page at some point.

Here’s a quick rundown of the process, with more pictures of the finished models at the end.

The two images I chose to sculpt from.

After choosing the images, I made a rough armature using aluminium wire and rigid Plastazote, which I covered in a thin layer of Super Sculpey and baked for a few minutes. This is to create a solid form to sculpt over when the Plastazote shrinks slightly in the oven, so any cracks can be fixed before the details are sculpted on.

When working with Sculpey I tend to sculpt in sections and then bake the model for 15 minutes before sculpting the next section.

Once the model was finished it became clear that I would need to mould it in several parts, which meant removing the head and mandibles. Both of these smaller pieces could be moulded in single part moulds but the body needed a two-part mould, so after working out where the seam lines should go I layed it out in in a bed of plasticine. and added cocktail sticks for risers.

After this first lot of silicone moulding was completed the mandible mould was ready to use. The head mould only required a scalpel cut made along the back of the head to release it from the mould.

To prepare the body for the second half of silicone to be poured I covered it in a layer of vaseline, added more cocktail stick risers and a cut-off section of syringe for the injection point.

I don’t have any pictures of the casting process, but both the head and body moulds were covered in duct tape to keep them sealed, they were then injected with fast cast resin and had duct tape reservoirs at the top to hold additional resin from the risers. (taped up moulds in the background of the image below)

After de-moulding, all of the resin parts needed sanding to remove the seam lines and filling with milliput in any areas that might have had bubbles. This process took quite a ling time, and was especially difficult for the seam line around the arms.

The next stage was to paint a layer of latex over the arms and eyes to mask them off, and spray each of the parts with primer before airbrushing with several layers of cellulose paint.

The fine details I painted on using acrylic, and in some cases sculpted additional parts onto the models with milliput or cut into them to create scars and battle damage.

Finished Models

Turian Council Member

Saren Arterius

Garrus Vakarian

Battle Damaged Garrus

Name Unknown (can’t remember, but if you know, you win a prize!*)

*the prize is a lie

I’ll be painting up a few more in the coming months, so keep an eye out.

Thanks for reading! Hope you liked them.

Update:

Photos of Sophie’s finished Turian

41 Responses to “Turians”


  1. 1 Paul Hill January 15, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Cool! Great work.

    This makes me feel even more lazy.

  2. 2 Dani Abram January 15, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    PLEASED TO TELL ME YOU WILL BE SALEING THESE!? KTHXBYE

  3. 3 Wayne Allen Jones Jr January 16, 2012 at 3:06 am

    They are awesome man I wish i had talent like that

  4. 5 TurianbuttKisser January 17, 2012 at 3:52 am

    DO WANT..
    VERY NICE HOW MUCH?

  5. 6 Kris January 17, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    If it’s legal for you to sell these, I would buy a MILLION of them.

    A MILLION.

  6. 7 Ema January 17, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    I’d like to say Nihlus for the last one, but I’m not sure because his armor was red.

    Either way, they’re super cool!!! It makes me wish I knew how to sculpt so I can make one myself!

  7. 8 Jen January 17, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    oh man. i want. you will sell these? :D

  8. 9 Michael Jangada January 17, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    SELL ONE TO ME IN BRAZIL!!!

  9. 10 Samantha Thomas January 17, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Is the one in yellow armor Preitor Gavorn?

  10. 11 Nitos Fritos January 17, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    Isn’t that Nihlus? Do I win a fake price?

  11. 12 KO.L January 17, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    Take My Wallet, Please! :D

  12. 13 Ada January 17, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Omg these are lovely, hope you’ll be selling them ;D

  13. 14 Grush January 17, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    Hahaha! That second reff you used is the drawing Lee made of my turian!! These are amaziiiing! Do you do commissions or something like that?

  14. 16 Sean January 18, 2012 at 1:03 am

    I’ll buy one! please contact me if you’re selling!

  15. 18 Snipsley January 18, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Now this is awesome.

    I can totally see this project funded on some global upcoming crowd funding platform like http://www.starthead.com. That way Mass Effect fans like me could help you produce these Turians and get some!

  16. 19 James January 18, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    the name of the mystery character is lorik qui’in, manager of synthetic insights Noveria branch :)

  17. 21 aeonfrog January 19, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    Mystery Turian is Garrus in the developmental stage of ME1,

  18. 22 gewel January 20, 2012 at 8:42 am

    Awesome!
    Well Done!
    :)

  19. 23 Walter January 20, 2012 at 10:23 am

    Name of the Turian is Litheriax or Lee and he is found on Noveria by the stairway to the garage.

  20. 24 Jacob C. Gang January 20, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    Isn’t the unknown one Sidonis?

  21. 25 Wandile Mkhize (Republic of South Africa) January 20, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    If u get the licence to sell these awesome work of arts, please let me know. And could you make one of Commander Sheperd? And would you do sculptures of people?

  22. 26 kerrydyer January 22, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    So, the winner of the prize* is aeonfrog! It is actually Garrus in earlier dev stages. But for those of you who mentioned it, I’ll be painting up a Nihlus at some point. Thanks for all you kind words :D

    *prize does not exist

  23. 27 Living Dead Girl (@UndeadPlum) January 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    You should seriously sell these on etsy or something lol.

  24. 28 Dev January 26, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Wow, that…really, really awesome. I kind of want the Turian Council Member so I can smack him around a little bit and not have him do air quotes at me.

  25. 29 Duane G February 5, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Wow! Standing ovation for the sculptures! I like!

  26. 30 PandaMan February 7, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Very impressive I especially like the touch with Garrus with and without the Battle wound partly because it was an epic dogfight that gave him that wound but also he is my favourite race and character. Really impressive again

  27. 31 This Web page February 16, 2013 at 9:30 am

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss
    feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent
    post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!


  1. 1 In Other News – 16 January, 2012 | Lazygamer .:: Console and PC Gaming News ::. | Other News Trackback on January 16, 2012 at 2:02 pm
  2. 2 Piękne, ręcznie stworzone figurki Turian z Mass Effect! | Serwis konsol Kraków xbox 360, PS3, PSP – Blog serwisowy, Ciekawostki ze świata konsol. Trackback on January 16, 2012 at 3:05 pm
  3. 3 Meet These Fan-Made Mass Effect Turians | MensaDad News Trackback on January 18, 2012 at 8:50 pm
  4. 4 Meet These Fan-Made Mass Effect Turians – News Trackback on January 18, 2012 at 11:47 pm
  5. 5 Custom Made Mass Effect Turian Figures | Trackback on January 19, 2012 at 8:10 am
  6. 6 Custom Mass Effect turian figurines say hi with sass | Xbox Downloadables Trackback on January 19, 2012 at 4:51 pm
  7. 7 Fan-Made Mass Effect 3 Turians | Darth Pixel Trackback on January 19, 2012 at 6:58 pm
  8. 8 Turian Sculptures. Beautiful! — The Average Gamer Trackback on January 20, 2012 at 1:47 am
  9. 9 GigaTrade.cz « GigaTrade - Další web používající WordPress Trackback on January 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm
  10. 10 Mass Effect Turian Sculptures Are Out Of This Galaxy - StickTwiddlers : StickTwiddlers Trackback on January 24, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

